About the Event

The Leave a Legacy Dinner allows The Magdalen House to provide alcoholic women the opportunity to obtain long-term sobriety and a renewed quality of life, at any stage of her recovery. This annual fundraiser is an evening consisting of inspiration, women’s empowerment, and agency awareness while striving to reduce the stigma on alcoholism by educating the Dallas community on a solution to permanent recovery. Previous speakers include Elizabeth Vargas, award-winning news anchor and correspondent, and Sarah Hepola, author of the New York Times bestseller Blackout.

Keynote Speaker: Mrs. Laura Bush

Mrs. Laura Bush is an advocate for women’s rights and a leading voice for promoting human rights across the globe. She has dedicated herself to advancing education and promoting the well-being of women and families worldwide. Today,  Mrs. Bush serves as the Chair for the Bush Institute’s Women’s Initiative, guiding the Institute’s programs to advance economic opportunity, good health and human freedom for women and girls around the world.

Mrs. Bush is the author of the bestselling memoir Spoken from the Heart and bestselling children’s book Our Great Big Backyard. She serves on many boards, including the National Advisory Board for the Salvation Army, the Council for the Smithsonian National Museum of African American History and Culture, the Board of Trustees for the National Trust for Historic Preservation, and the SMU Board of Trustees.


Presenting Sponsor

Emerald Sponsors

Kay Colbert and Carlos Barroso

Alice and Curt Farmer

Ruby Sponsors

Neva and Don Cochran

Platinum Sponsors

Hannah and Domenick Ciccone

Carolyn Miller

Kathy and John Yeaman

Gold Sponsors

Kate Miner Moebel and Patrick Moebel

Silver Sponsors

Laurie and Mark Connell

Kate and John Dorff

Ann Mewhinney and Bruce Matous

Dina Steele


Currently, ONLY sponsorship opportunities are available.

At this time we do NOT have individual tickets available for sale; we anticipate being able to offer individual tickets closer to the event.

Purchase Sponsorships

Event Committee Chairs

Kathi and Scott Shuford
Event Chairs

Adriane Crosland, Caroline Smith, and Lauren Laughry
Event Co-Chairs

Lucinda Buford
Underwriting Chair

Cindy McIlhenny
Solicitations Chair

JoAnne Moore
Solicitations Chair

Nancy Gottsacker
Solicitations Chair

Sara Fay Egan and Allie Stensrud
Decorations Chairs

Michelle Hope
Catering Chair

Susie Barnett, Lisa Thompson, and Felice Crocker
Favor Chairs

Beth Hansen
Volunteers Chair

Kathleen Powell
Merchandising Chair

Host Committee

Susie and Mike Barnett
Abbey and Bater Bates
Anne and Jeremy Besser
Molly and Jimmy Bonner
Suzanne and Ken Brown
Kay Colbert and Carlos Barroso
Louise Hallam Collins
Felice and Dow Crocker
Mary Clayton Crow
Courtney and Doug Denby
Mary Lou and Brian Derksen
Sloan and David Dix
Kate and John Dorff
Kim and Jack Eimer
Patti and Jimmy Elliott
Alice and Curt Farmer

Megan and Jonathan Filgo
Mary Clare Finney
Kristie and Mike George
Becky and Joe Gould
Alyson Griffith
Carmen and Michael Gross
Shelby and Grant Guest
Julie and Brian Hall
James Hallam
Rebecca and Riley Harvill
Cindy and Chris Hines
Julie and Kregg Jodie
Jenny and Brant Landry
Lynn Mahurin
Laura and Tom McElroy
Tonya and Charlie McKinney
Kate Miner Moebel and Patrick Moebel
Nancy T. and Dr. Jim Montgomery

Tessa and Bob Mosteller
Denise and Ray Nixon
Gwen and Doug Parker
Maria and Brandon Pope
Kathleen and Rocky Powell
Amy and Jeff Rea
Kristy Hoglund Robinson
Sandy Schwan
Kathy and William Shuford
Shay and Jack Sides
Dina Steele
Vicki and Bruce Stensrud
Paul Tate
Susan and David Toomey
Lee Ann and Steve Van Amburgh
Nancy and Jack Zogg

Questions? Please contact Kate Richter
[email protected] | 214.764.0793


Unique programming for women in recovery facing different obstacles than men, no comparable facility in North Texas.


Women come to us with depleted resources, no insurance, and no hope.

Peer Implemented Programming

Keeps operating costs low while leveraging community collaboration for increased impact.

Comprehensive Programming

26 solution-based classes and meetings open for all women in recovery seven days a week. Transitional and supportive programs that are unique to The Magdalen House to sustain long-term on-going recovery.